Fellowship Finalists

2018 Club Melbourne Co-Fellows

Congratulations to our 2018 Co-Fellows, Dr Eric Chow and Dr Tamsyn Van Rheenen, who were appointed at our annual Club Melbourne Anniversary Dinner on Monday 13 August.

Both Fellows receive the $10,000 funding to support their attendance at an international conference in conjunction with their research project, as well as full access to the Program. 

  • Dr Eric Chow - Monash University

    Dr Eric Chow is a Senior Research Fellow at the Melbourne Sexual Health Centre and Monash University. He is an epidemiologist and an expert in sexual health related to preventing and controlling sexually transmitted infections, particularly in gonorrhoea and human papillomavirus. Dr Chow has more than 140 publications and has contributed to public health program and economic evaluation, STI management guidelines. He is currently leading an NHMRC-funded multi-centred clinical trial on mouthwash use to prevent oropharyngeal gonorrhoea.

    This Fellowship will support Eric’s attendance at IUSTI Asia-Pacific Sexual Health Congress 2018 in Auckland, New Zealand. 

  • Dr Tamsyn Van Rheenen - The University of Melbourne

    Dr Tamsyn Van Rheenen is an NHMRC Research Fellow at the University of Melbourne. Her research focuses on understanding cognition in the major psychiatric disorders using behavioural and neuroscientific techniques. Tamsyn hopes that clarification of the cognitive phenotypes associated with these psychiatric disorders will inform the development of treatments aimed specifically at this symptom dimension. Her work has been published in several leading journals in her field, has attracted national and international media coverage and has been recognized with several awards.

    This Fellowship will support Tamsyn’s attendance at the International Congress of Schizophrenia Research 2019 in Florida, USA.


2018 Fellowship Finalists

All 2018 finalists represent Victoria’s strength in innovation, research excellence and thought-leadership, and we commend each finalist for their contribution to the State.  

  • Dr Andrea (Ondi) Crino – Deakin University 

    Dr Andrea (Ondi) Crino is a postdoctoral research associate at Deakin University. She completed her doctoral research in America in 2013 and moved to Australia to conduct postdoctoral research studying wild zebra finches. Her research focuses on how the developmental environment shapes the physiological, behavioural, and evolutionary responses of birds. She is additionally involved in research that utilises physiological markers to evaluate the health and well-being of wild animals for conservation and management purposes. She has received numerous esteemed awards and has established herself as an international leader in her field. 

  • Dr Tu Le – RMIT University 

    Dr Tu Le is a Vice Chancellor’s Postdoctoral Fellow at the School of Engineering, RMIT University. Prior to her appointment at RMIT, from 2010 to 2016, she was a Postdoctoral Fellow and then Research Scientist at CSIRO.  Dr. Le received her Ph.D. in computational science from Swinburne University of Technology in 2010. She has ten years of experience in designing and engineering a broad spectrum of novel materials, from polymers, bio-nanomaterials to therapeutics using computational approaches. Her current research interests are structure-function-property relationships of materials using artificial intelligent machine learning techniques.

  • Dr Yen Ying Lim - Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health

    Dr Yen Ying Lim is a cognitive psychologist focused on defining the clinicopathological aspects of neurodegenerative disease. Through a wide range of skills, experience and collaborations, Dr Lim has made substantial advances into Alzheimer’s disease, particularly in uncovering biological processes that underpin cognitive decline in the earliest disease stages. This now underpins the design of multiple clinical trials. She has demonstrated a sustained upward trajectory in her career, with 54 research papers (28 first, 26 corresponding; cited >1400 times), and ~$2M of CIA funding from NHMRC, international and industry. She has also had 14 invitations to speak at conferences and won 12 prestigious research awards.


2017 Club Melbourne Fellow

Professor Dominique Cadilhac’s excellence in stroke research at the Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health secured her the $10,000 Fellowship to support her attendance at international conferences and to enable new, life changing research opportunities.

  • Associate Professor Dominique Cadilhac

    Associate Professor Dominique Cadilhac -  Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health

    Associate Professor Cadilhac is the Head of Public Health: Stroke Division at the Florey. She also heads the Translational Public Health and Evaluation Division, Stroke and Ageing Research within the School of Clinical Sciences at Monash University.  She is an expert in health services research related to stroke, particularly in the areas of economic evaluation and program evaluation.  She has a clinical background in nursing.  Associate Professor Cadilhac has over 125 journal publications and has contributed to seven practice guidelines. She is best known for establishing the Australian Stroke Clinical Registry and the Victorian Stroke Telemedicine Program.